Fear Not!

Despite my later bedtime last night, this morning was surprisingly welcomed! I hopped out of bed around six, grabbed a Dashing Dish Pumpkin Protein Muffin, a mug full of Keurig pumpkin spice coffee, and headed to Design Works for a bible study called Overcoming Fear. It is a Women of Faith Study by Lucy Swindol and I am really looking forward to it.

overcoming-fear-margaret-feinberg-paperback-cover-art

 My friend, Whitney and her co-worker Dara, are leading the group in their conference room before they start their workday. I anticipate God will move big in my heart and the hearts of the women at Design Works this fall!

This week was an introductory week but we did have a very substantial conversation about fear. Dara made some great points about how fear is developed as you get older. As a baby you are only born with two real fears, one of which is falling. She also very accurately connected fear with worry.

I realized that a lot of my fears are worries that evolve into anxiety and become very real, physical ailments. In a later post I will describe the crippling effects fear, along with the need for control, has had on me in my life.

If you have been with me the past couple days then you know I am also starting a study called Discerning the Voice of God: How to Recognize when God speaks. The first day of this study, the homework had me jot down some personal, troubling circumstances in my life. All of these circumstances root from a fear of the unknown. Fear of the future. Am I going to be successful at this God? I am afraid I wont be… Am I supposed to be in graduate school? Maybe I don’t need to be… What about all of my other insecurities and fears of being liked, saying the right thing, and even the fear that if I don’t exercise daily I will ultimately become lazy and a failure.

This fall will be quite a journey as I recognize Gods voice and overcome some fears. Honestly, I am afraid of what God might have to say to me. Fortunately, I can find my confidence in God’s love for me and his uncompromising promises to never leave me or forsake me.

“So do not fear for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

*Sigh* Is that not comforting or what!

Ok. Now lets get down to business. After the morning meeting I was ready for a longish run. It has been awhile since I have tackled any kind of distance on my runs, so I was itching to conquer a good five miles. My first mile paced at 6:50, which was much faster then what I should have started since three miles had been my peak distance the last two weeks. I decided, even though I was starting this run on a loving life kind of high, I needed to pull back and slow down in order to finish at a strong 8:30 pace without killing myself. I want to continue to enjoy running, so pacing is pretty important!

After my run I ended with a short circuit:

  • 100 crunches
  • 25 plank jacks, 30 second wall sits   X4
  • 100 crunches

Plank jacks are my new favorite! Check it out:

Post workout snack involved greek yogurt and HONEY! Just toast some whole grain toast, spread on some greek yogurt goodness and drizzle the honey.

(photo was deleted)

I promise this is a delicious combo! Even Eron likes it!

Powered by Qumana

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Fear Not!

  1. Pingback: Creamy, Spicy, and Delicious | Balancing on Honey

Leave a Reply

