Creamy, Spicy, and Delicious

Yesterday was my off day day off.  I never know what to do with myself when I have week mornings off from work…. I usually make lists to stay busy and to keep the productivity flowing, but yesterday I neglected most of my list. Fortunately, my morning was not delayed and I was up at 6 a.m. I had plans to meet with some very insightful women, at Design Works, for a bible study called Overcoming Fear. Ironically enough I was a little apprehensive about going. My friend Whitney  was sick, so my insecurities were trying to get the best of me and keep me home.

SO glad I put my big girl pants on and went, because the time spent with those women was truly blessed. It also helps when a sleepy husband gives you mumbly words of encouragement.

Me (making excuses): “Whitney is sick… she can’t make it… and she is the one who invited me… and it is her work. I am the only one who doesn’t work there… should I go?”

Eron: “Yea, you should go.”

Me: “Ok.”

Word studies always seem to enlighten me, so I really appreciated when Dara broke down the bible verse 2 Timothy 1:7. There is a GIANT book called Strong’s Concordance and it defines specific words, in the bible, with their Greek or Hebrew meaning. English words in the bible, don’t always translate exactly the same from their Greek or Hebrew origin, so strong’s helps make the connections to context.

Using Strong’s, Dara shared the translation of three words in 2 Timothy 1:7. This is the verse:

“For God did not give us a spirit of fear, but a spirit of power and of love and of a sound mind.”

The word fear that is used this verse is translated into the Greek word deilia.  Deilia means to have timidity, fearfulness, or cowardliness.

The word power located in this verse is translated into the Greek word dynamis. (*Fun Fact* this is where we get the word dynamite.) Dynamis means strength, power and ability. Blue Letter Bible breaks down the definition even further:

a) inherent power, power residing in a thing by virtue of its nature, or which a person or thing exerts and puts forth

b) power for performing miracles

c) moral power and excellence of soul

d) the power and influence which belong to riches and wealth

e) power and resources arising from numbers

f) power consisting in or resting upon armies, forces, hosts

Sound mind is translated into the greek word sōphronismos. This word means moderation, or self discipline, and self discipline is the act of controlling ones emotions.

The translated verse looks like this:

“For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of strength and of love and of self discipline.

Understanding the origin of the words reinforces what is being said to me. The depth of Dara’s thinking is inspiring and challenges me to reach deeper into my relationship with Christ; to listen to what the the Holy Spirit is speaking to me through a living bible. Context makes the small things, I can actually begin to fathom, a little bit bigger!

After the study yesterday morning I proceeded to the Bill Bartley YMCA where I did 30 minutes on the elliptical and attended a pilates class. After that I spent more time reflecting and reading through my study, Discerning the Voice of God. Marley was doing some sittin’ and thinking too.

Now I must share my breakfast because it was delicious! Remember those Pumpkin Spice bagel thins? Well, they are so tasty and i don’t think I will ever get sick of them. There was a little dilemma though… I wanted an egg sandwich but didn’t know how to make that combination work. I decided to try my luck at a sweet yet savory pumpkin egg sandwich.

It turned out great! While my bagel was toasting, I scrambled 1 egg with 2 egg whites. Then I took half the bagel and spread a thin layer of cream cheese on it. I topped the other half of the bagel with the eggs and sprinkled both halves with a lot (my shaker got out of control) of cinnamon and a bit of sugar!

Dinner yesterday, was so very share worthy and will be leftovers tonight!  The overcast weather that has moved in makes taco soup the perfect comfort food. There are tons of variations to recipes for taco soup, so I decided to see what we had in our pantry and make me own version. Turned out creamy, spicy and delicious.

Creamy Chicken Taco Soup

  • 2 large chicken breast (cubed into bite size pieces)
  • 4 oz reduced fat cream cheese (half a block)
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can rotel
  • 1 can corn
  • 3 Tablespoons Taco seasoning
  • 1 Tablespoon Ranch Seasoning
  • 1 Chicken Bouillon cube

If you prefer less spice use diced tomatoes in place of the Rotel!

My creamy soup was topped with avocado and I could hardly wait for Eron to come home to eat it! Now I must get back to homework before I hit the YMCA up for a Friday night workout. Eron has to cover a football game tonight, so I feel like this will be my best chance to workout before catching the last half of his game! I will be sure to share my workout with you guys soon, along with some other exciting news!!!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

