Food Share: BBQ Bacon Chicken Tenders

I have talked about my days off in previous posts, but lately I have really started to appreciate them. My tendency is to get worked up about not having a “grown up” job, feeling limited by my location, and wondering if going after a masters in LIS will lead to a future career. Human nature has me anxiously looking for the next step in my life instead of finding contentment in where I am at right now.

Just a few weeks ago my days off were a bit depressing… a reminder that I have not yet achieved success. Still a student, working part-time while I watch my husband step into a path of purpose that we have been fervently praying for! …How selfish have I been! Light has been shed on my poor attitude and I have grown thankful for my comfortable life. My heart has changed and I have seen all the opportunities given to me in my free mornings. I have been given a gift of time; time to pray, time to meditate, time to read my bible, time to serve my husband in our home, and time to study. What a blessing this is in such a high-speed lifestyle many americans have adopted.

The quieting of my soul has opened up my ears to Gods promises for my life, and confirmed by the holy spirit. Most importantly, I am finally dreaming of all the possibilities here in Wichita Falls, TX.

Another wonderful thing about having Tuesdays and Thursdays off from baking is I can still start my day early in a different kind of productive way. This morning I stepped out for my run at 6:30 a.m. and followed it up with some plank’s from Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp!

IMG_0099

Last nights dinner was too good not to share. I had some BBQ Bacon chicken tendors paired with steamed spinach, broccoli, and a random slice of whole wheat Italian bread.

IMG_0094

BBQ Bacon Chicken Tenders 

IMG_0089

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Dip the chicken tender in a bowl of BBQ sauce (can also be done with whole chicken breast)
  3. Tightly wrap chicken tender with a slice of bacon (I prefer turkey bacon) **
  4. Place BBQ bacon tenders in a baking dish
  5. Bake for 25 minutes (increase time for whole chicken breasts)

** Half of my tenders had a piece of provolone cheese wrapped inside.

I learned this recipe from my college friend Ashley a few years ago! I am so glad I remembered it because it was so good!!

Does anyone else get caught up with looking ahead, and forget to appreciate the season they are currently in?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Food Share: BBQ Bacon Chicken Tenders

  1. To answer your question – YES. Currently there:)

  2. Becky

    I only wish I had your problem. Being a stay at home mom, is my ultimate dream. Yes, I did work hard and spent lots of hours on my undergrad and masters and it paid off. Life is so busy and I feel some times I neglect my family because I busy with my career. No time to do crafts, clean house, bake spend time with my family 😦 I thank God for what I have but being home an taking care of my family out ways having nice things.

    • balancingonhoney

      Another reason why I should be content with the time I have, while I have it! You are very good at being super mom though! Baking yummy red velvet cakes, cake balls, and pizzas with Joseph in your few spare moments! Oh and your commitment to running so early before work is inspiring to me! I hope I do that when I am a working mom!

Leave a Reply

