Zesty Soupy Monday

Breakfast this morning was a simple and delicious bowl of hot oatmeal. Something sweet to warm up my belly before heading to work at T.G.S. Cupcakery.

My oatmeal consisted of 1/2 cup oats, water, a whole banana, 1 tsp chia seeds and a Truvia packet. Not super creative but it did the job and kept me full while I baked the cupcakes for today.

Todays flavors are: Strawberry, Pumpkin Spice and Carmel Pecan. Along with the  regulars; Red Velvet, Devils Food, Vanilla and Cinnamon Rolls.

It was a good 32 degrees out this morning and my car actually required defrosting! I am pretty excited about the cool weather, because the warm weather has made it very difficult to get into the holiday spirit, that, and looking forward to all the assignments that are due the next couple weeks! My end of semester projects and exams will be welcomed and dreaded all at the same time.

Before my afternoon was consumed with today’s assignment, I enjoyed a turkey panini on some Omega 3 multi-grain bread with pretzel crisps on the side.

Tonight’s dinner was a much anticipated repeat of last nights dinner. Eron and I planned to enjoy round two of our zesty vegetable soup after working out tonight, but I must confess, I ate my soup at 5 o’clock without him. He gets off at 6:30 which means we wouldn’t be done working out till around 8 and a just couldn’t risk the side-effects ;). By side affects I mean cranky hunger-induced, hulk like crazy lady symptoms. I think this picture (found on Pinterest) describes it perfectly:

Anyways, back to the soup. You want this recipe trust me!

Zesty Vegetable Soup

  • 1 lb lean ground beef or ground turkey
  • 1 small chopped onion
  • 2 cans beef broth
  • 2 cans italian style diced tomatoes
  • 1 can vegetable medley
  • 1 cup no yolk egg noodles
  • 1 tbls oregano
  • salt and pepper
  • ***optional: Eron and I added some Tony Chachere’s Creole  seasoning for extra kick.

Cooking Method

  1. Brown meat with chopped onion.
  2. Once browned, drain the meat and add in the rest of the ingredients
  3. Bring to a boil then cover and simmer for 15 minutes or until noodles are soft

I tried to make sure to give myself  a little bit of time to digest before I headed up to OSTC to complete Day 1 of Week fours BBBC. After typing all afternoon a sweaty workout was a good change of pace to really get moving this monday!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Zesty Soupy Monday

  1. Haha, I totally get HANGRY when I’m not eating on a regular schedule. I’m miserable to be around when I haven’t been fed. That soup looks so good! I usually don’t make soups (college girl problems) but I love the idea of all those flavors.

Leave a Reply

