Better to be a Boat

*As a beginner blogger, I have already gone through many learning experiences, technical frustrations, and formatting issues. It just so happened that when I finished typing a post to share, my Safari shut down. I was in the quick post screen, so nothing was saved. I am very disheartened, yet still determined to share my thoughts, so I am attempting to retype a shorter version of everything I just wrote. *

Has anyone ever felt themselves walking through life, anticipating the next step, yet passively and carefully waiting for change to occur.  A girlfriend and I recently joked that we are “coasting” through today, in order to get a revelation tomorrow. If no revelation comes, no problem, we will continue to coast.

I looked up the definition to the word coast on Dictionary.com, and it is defined as continuing to move or advance with no effort; keep going on acquired momentum. This is not how I want to define my life. To be a coaster in this sense is to be slow, unintentional and unmotivated.

So, how can I take my daily circumstances and insert action, progress and growth. A verse that continually shows up in my life is Philippians 3:14 “I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward.” Now I have goals for every area of my life; fitness, school, career, family, etc., but how do I know they are life-giving? and how do I actively pursue them?

When we walk closely with God, I believe in my heart that the holy spirit inspires us, through our desires, to live out Gods purpose for our life. To live it out means to press on, to make decisions and step out out of our comfort zone.

Lynette Lewis is a speaker that is passionate about dreaming big, as well as, inspiring women to influence. In one of her podcasts from Grace Bible Church she said, “It is better to be a boat out in the ocean, that can be redirected, than the boat back on the shore, waiting for someone to get on board.”  

If I am to be a boat, I must recognize my dreams and believe they are possible. As a side note, when intending to look up Philippians 3:14 I unintentionally went to Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” The reflection 3 14 and 4 13 is no coincidence to me!

One of my most recent dreams is to bring a 501(c)3 non-profit organization here to Wichita Falls, Tx. It is called Girls on the Run and their mission is to “inspire girls to be joyful, healthy and confident using a fun, experience-based curriculum which creatively integrates running.”

I have been sitting on this dream for a couple weeks now, and think it is time to become more intentional through action and prayer. It would be so easy to let it rest on the “shore”, but it is “better to be a boat.”

Another goal I have is for my job at T.G.S. Cupcakery. We are going to be setting up a live music night for bands to come in and play while customers enjoy their cupcake and hot drinks. There is also talk of a cupcake craft class being added to the calendar. This would be a fun time to spend with friends and family, making cupcake ornaments, decorating cupcakes, painting or deco-podging, etc., while enjoying your favorite cupcake of course.

Lots of exciting things to come, and with Gods grace I was able to get through this post, for the second time! I guess it wasn’t much shorter either :).

Do any other bloggers have suggestions on making the technical side of blogging easier?!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Better to be a Boat

  1. Girl, if you find some good advice, PLEASE send it my way. Blogging is a constant learning experience and I had so clue how much technical, nit picky details go into it.

    I love your change of banner, by the way! How did you do that?

    • balancingonhoney

      Thank you! I made it in Adobe Illustrator and uploaded it into the header part of my blog. I have basic illustrator knowledge, so I went with the suggested pixel size and played with it till I was happy!

  2. Girls on the Run is my favorite organization…I have a couple posts on my experiences with the girls and have a lot of different volunteer things coming up as our 5k is December 2nd. You should absolutely open a chapter! It’s nothing but positivity, motivation and good life changes for the girls you’d support. If I ever find myself in an area without a GOTR chapter, it will be top on my list to establish one. Would love to hear more about it as you move forward!!

Leave a Reply

