Thanks for Burpees

It is hard to believe that Thanksgiving is just three days away… Just three days until we get to enjoy comforting foods including smoked turkey that will be perfected by Dave my brother-in-law, addicting homemade rolls and cheesy beans made by my mother-in-law, and of course pumpkin pie! This year I am contributing by making the stuffing (I am buying a small, back-up stuffing just in case mine bombs) ;).

Stuffing is my FAVORITE. If you are born and raised in the south you might also refer to it as dressing. My parents are from Chicago, so we traditionally stuff our turkeys with stuffing! Even though I was born in Arizona and have lived in Texas for majority of my life, I was quite shocked to learn not everyone stuffs their birds. Don’t worry, I never doubted the quality of stuffing that is cooked outside the bird. It is just too good to mess up from location alone :). Friday we are headed to the metroplex to enjoy a second thanksgiving with my family. This alone makes me dance with “thanks.” I am very aware that the holidays can be rough times for split families, and will never stop praising God for every one I am able to spend with mine.

The meaning of Thanksgiving has changed radically in my life over the past four years. While I was home for thanksgiving break four years ago, I gave my life to Jesus. That means I will have spent three Thanksgivings with Christ as my savior and two of those as a wife. Not only was I saved, but I have been redeemed, healed, and given freedom from pits in my life that I never dreamed I would be able to climb out of. When I accepted God’s love and grace I was shown how much I am worth to him. My heart is full of reasons to give thanks.

On a lighter note, I am thankful for this weeks BBBC! Tina has constructed a workout plan with circuits that involve a substantial amount of burpees. Oh burpees, how I love and hate you so much. I actually really do like incorporating burpees into my workout. They are tough and make me feel like I “did work.”  Plus, all these burpees means extra stuffing right?

Awhile back I did a burpee pyramid with a squat to shoulder press, that looked something like this:


For the next couple days, my meals will incorporate all the perishable foods in our fridge! I want to make sure nothing goes bad since we are going out of town at the end of the week. We have a huge tub of spinach from Sam’s, so it looks spinach will be getting the spotlight! Be prepared for some sweaty work!

Lunch- spinach salad with leftover grilled chicken, baby tomatoes, shredded carrot, sunflower seeds and balsamic vinaigrette.

 Snack- Greek yogurt with kiwi and honey. 

Dinner- Protein shake: 2 handfuls of spinach, a banana, 1/2 cup frozen strawberries, 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder, 1 tablespoon unsweetened coco and a handful of ice!

 

MMMM spinach overload! If you can get past the unappealing color, you will understand how wonderful it tastes!

What is your favorite dish at Thanksgiving?

Do you have any exciting plans?

Do you call it “stuffing” or “dressing”?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Thanks for Burpees

  1. It’s stuffing all the way, baby. Stuffing is also my absolute favorite!

    Your title to this post made me smile. Thanking burpees? Are you crazy? That BBB burpee workout this morning almost killed me… But I am glad you rocked it. 🙂 You give me inspiration!

    • balancingonhoney

      Haha! I was lacking a title and I thought that might help me get through the next couple weeks with a positive attitude :p.

Leave a Reply

