Melting Arms and Balance

****Don’t forget to enter the giveaway for a T.G.S. Cupcakery T-Shirt HERE. Contest ends tomorrow at 2:00 p.m.****

Today’s Melting Arm workout:

melting arms

Why do I workout?

I used to workout for many reasons, and sometimes those reasons were superficial. Sometimes working out alleviated the guilt that came with snacking on too many Christmas cookies, or maybe it offered me a reason to indulge at dinner. FYI, I can tell you that I can burn, roughly 130 calories in a mile, and that there are 120 calories in a serving of peanut butter. Those who know me, know that I am a peanut butter lovin’ lady!

Just so you know, counting calories has always gotten me in a bind. It forms twisted relationship between food and exercise in my mind, and instead of finding balance I am in the midst of chaos. Counting calories is not bad, it actually works for many people, maybe it works for you, but I seem to allow it to become insane thinking, that consumes me daily. Not much room is left for relationships with people. Not to mention my relationship with Christ.

Waking up with a pressing urge to workout was hindering my desire to know Christ more. If I was unable to workout in the morning then all day I would plan a time when I could. Exercise is a good thing, no, it is a GREAT thing, but in my heart it was taking the place of a relationship with the Lord and I knew this was not a good thing.

So, why do I really workout?

Now I workout because I want to take care of the body I have been given. It feels good to go for a run or go to the gym, and it gives me energy to accomplish more in my day. Balancing time with my husband, family and friends, and my desire for exercise, nutrition and personal growth in my life comes after my relationship with the Lord, and that is what this blog is all about.

In the past year and a half I have gained freedom from my compulsive food planning, and the binding guilt that comes with nutritional failures, by finding comfort in God and His promises. I have learned that I don’t have to keep striving for perfection, and I don’t have to be burdened with ANY failures.

“I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.” John 14:27

You can read an article with ten verses of encouraging promises made by God HERE.

I have found better balance with all the important activities throughout my day. Making today’s “Power Word,”  Balance. Dictionary.com defines Balance as: mental steadiness or emotional stability; habit of calm behavior, judgment, etc.

Why do you workout?

What are you trying to balance in your life?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Melting Arms and Balance

  1. Oh my gosh I am completely in love with this ! It is almost like you read my mind with how things go for me! Such a great post 🙂

  2. What an incredible post. I completely agree with you. I, too, used to use exercise as a way to purge by body of “bad” calories, but now, I use exercise to clear my mind, body, and soul. I’m addicted in the best way possible.

    • balancingonhoney

      Thank you! I still get down if I miss a workout, but I have an easier time letting it go than I used to!

Leave a Reply

