I sure do like those Christmas cookies, sugar

“I sure do like those Christmas cookies, babe. The ones that look like Santa clause, Christmas trees and bells, and stars. I sure do like those Christmas cookies, babe.”

Oh, George Strait, that song makes me so happy! If you haven’t heard it.. Google it! πŸ™‚

My Christmas break officially began last night with some Christmas cookie decorating Christmas trees, bells, stars and even a moon. George would have been proud.

Every year my mother-in-law, Jenny, prepares the dough, as well as, a warm comforting dinner for the entire family. She actually cooks for us just about every week, which is incredible. I swear she has super powers in order to do everything she does!

Now back to the cookies. These cookies have a slight hint of cinnamon, and are great for cookie cutting and frosting. They are not a bit healthy, but they are for Santa, and he doesn’t mind! πŸ˜‰

I had so much fun watching my 5-year-old nephew, Joseph, decorate his cookies while nibbling on the fallen crumbs, and of course joining him on the nibbling. This is one of my newest, favorite Christmas traditions that I have become apart of!

I asked Jenny if she would be willing to share her recipe with my readers and she told me she was happy to!

Santa’s Sugar Cookies

155853_10200096398922255_512335461_n

Ingredients

β€’ 1 cup crisco
β€’ 1 cup sugar
β€’ 2 eggs
β€’ 1 tsp ground cinnamon
β€’ 1 tsp vanilla
β€’ 2 3/4 cups flour
β€’ 1/2 tsp salt
β€’ 1/2 tsp baking soda
β€’ 1/2 tsp baking powder

Method

1. Cream crisco and sugar together.
2. Add eggs, cinnamon, and vanilla and mix.
3. In a separate bowl sift together dry ingredients and gradually mix into the wet ingredients.
4. Roll dough out 1/2 inch thick and chill for 2-4 hours.
5. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and bake for 8-10 minutes.

Santa’s Cookie Icing Ingredients

β€’ 2 tsp evaporated milk
β€’ 2 sticks of butter
β€’ 1 tsp vanilla
β€’ powdered sugar

Method

1. Cream together milk, butter, and vanilla.
2. Slowly add powdered sugar till desired thickness is reached.

What is your favorite Christmas Tradition?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “I sure do like those Christmas cookies, sugar

  1. Those look the perfect Christmas decorating cookies! My favorite Christmas tradition is opening presents one by one on Christmas morning, followed by a delicious, huge Christmas brunch.

  2. I am definitely going to have to add these to my list of baking tomorrow, those look so good!

Leave a Reply

