Growing Oatmeal and Sandy Snowflakes

 

It is still cold but the roads are fine to drive on, so back to work we go! I can’t believe how fast Christmas has come and gone this year, but I suppose it just goes by faster and faster every year!

This morning I woke up on a mission. I had been looking at my new Hungry Girl cookbook, and in it are many recipes for “Growing Oatmeal.” The title “Growing Oatmeal” caught my attention right away. I love oatmeal, so of course I would like my bowl super-sized! The Hungry Girl Author, Lisa Lillien, promised a big-o-bowl without adding extra calories. How can this be possible? Well, I will tell you… Extra liquid, and longer stove top time. Of Course! It all makes sense now. I don’t know why I didn’t think of it myself.

After breezing through the oatmeal pages I decided to tweak her method a bit, and create my own Cinnamon-Apple Protein Oatmeal. Partly because I was missing some of her ingredients, and partly because I wanted to add a touch of protein to my cinnamon-apple craving.

Another great thing about this morning’s breakfast is that we finally got our painted pottery back! For my birthday a few weeks ago, Eron and I went to Sunshine Glaze and painted bowls that they would glaze and return to us. It was so much fun I would really like to do it again! Plus, I now have a BOH theme-d bowl that I can fill with delicious, giant oatmeal.

DSC_0009

Cinnamon-Apple Protein Oatmeal

  • 1/2 Cup Old Fashioned Oats (Must be old fashioned)
  • 1 Cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze
  • 1 Small Apple ( I used Gala)
  • 1/3 Scoop Vanilla Protein Powder (11g)
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 2 packets Truvia

Method

  1.  Combine all ingredients in a pot.
  2. Add 1 cup of water and bring to a boil. This will look like a lot of liquid but down worry it thickens up.
  3. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 15 to 20 minutes. Stirring constantly.
  4. Transfer to a bowl and allow it to cool a bit and thicken. I topped mine with extra oats for some texture.

The oatmeal takes a little longer to make but it is worth it. The super filling bowl is extra creamy and so-so tasty.

DSC_0025

Snowflakes for Sandy

Before writing this post I was reading Julie’s Peanut Butter Fingers blog about making snowflakes for the students who attended Sandy Hook Elementary. Sandy Hook Elementary will no longer be used, and students will be attending a new school. Teachers are asking for people to send snowflakes to decorate the halls before the students come back. For more information on sending snowflakes visit this blog post.

The address to send the snowflakes is:

Connecticut PTSA
60 Connolly Parkway, Building 12, Suite 103
Hamden, CT 06514

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Growing Oatmeal and Sandy Snowflakes

  1. Yum and YUM! I’ve browsed through Hungry Girl’s cookbook before, but have never purchased it. Do you recommend it?

  2. Pingback: Sandy Hook Elementary Virtual 5k | Balancing on Honey

Leave a Reply

