Colfax Colorado Half

It is official. After some debating, pacing, and planning, I have finally registered for my first half marathon ever! I will be running the Colfax Half Marathon in Denver Colorado on Sunday, May 19th. That is almost 19 weeks from now, so my next step is to create a training plan!

logo_13

Back in the beginning of December, I compiled a “2013 Race Wish List.” The Colfax Half was not on this list, and the only race that I might be able to sign up for, before May, is the THOR obstacle run in April.

Running a half marathon has been in the back of my mind for awhile now, so when I suggested that my cousins and I participate in a fun run while visiting Colorado, I got three enthusiastic takers! Even though there will be altitude, I thought running in gorgeous Colorado would probably be worth the heavy breathing. After looking at the course, I am certain it will be worth it! We get to run through the Denver Zoo. Rawr!

SiberianTiger_02

(Source)

It was also in my new years resolution to run a half before the end of the year, so 7 days in, I have taken “action” to make it happen! Now I just need to decide on some new running shoes, and once I get my training plan figured out I will post it to the blog!

Today’s Workout

A BodyPump class and a 30 minute treadmill workout are on the agenda for this evening.

30 min

Is anyone else looking forward to some fun runs? Or family vacations?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Colfax Colorado Half

  1. That’s so exciting!! Congrats on making future plans like that! I would love to run a 1/2 marathon….maybe in 2014? Haha

  2. One I think this is awesome simply because it is in Colorado, where I live! Have you ever been here before? It sounds like you have, but maybe not ! Secondly, I think that it is great that you made this your resolution and already committed to it 7 days in, thats impressive haha. It is so pretty here year around, but May is the best. If i were ever able to do a 1/2 marathon I definitely would. You’ll do great!

    • Yes! I have been there bunches and I love it! If I could convince the hubs to move out there then I would ASAP. My cousin lives out there so we are all getting together for a family reunion.

  3. Ah, that’s so exciting! I’ve never run a half marathon before but it’s definitely on my to do list! I can’t wait to hear about how your training/race goes!

  4. Erin

    That’s so exciting! Good for you! I’m doing my first one in February and I got my training shoes at Luke’s Locker. They are AWESOME. I highly recommend going there to get you a really good pair 🙂

  5. Ok. I am beyond excited or you!!! amazing! I can’t wait to follow you on your journey. you’ll do great 😀

Leave a Reply

