7 Days of Whole30 + Scentsy Giveaway!

What have I been doing the past 7 days? Well besides loads of studying and 1/2 marathon training (10 more weeks ah!)… I have been doing the Whole9, Whole30 program. That means eating NO grains, NO dairy, and NO preservatives. So what have I been eating then? I have tried a couple new recipes, but really, I have been eating virtually the same foods I already eat. Minus oatmeal *tear*, Peanut butter *double tears*, and coffee creamer *BOO.

Other than that, I have had the usual eggs (LOTS of EGGS), veggies, avocados, sweet potatoes, chicken, and beef. I even broadened my palate some with bacon, coconut milk, and dates. It has been a relatively easy change for me… so far.

Changes I have noticed:

  • less bloated feelings for sure! 
  • freedom from the sugar loaded garb (I can’t eat it, so I don’t have to decided if I want to or not).

Whole 9 Life posted a timeline of what you might expect on a day-by-day basis, so I have been monitoring how I have felt to see if I experience some of the same things!

Their post can be found at this link: The Timeline: A Day-by-Day Guide to Your Whole 30.

Day 1

  • Whole9 Timeline Says: So what’s the big deal?
  • I Said: The same thing! This is easy as pie.. er I mean bacon and eggs! I prepped meals and felt confident!

Day 2-3: 

  • Whole9 Timeline Says: The Hangover
  • I Said: Nope still feeling pretty good… I do want cake though… and coffee creamer.

Day 4-5:

  • Whole9 Timeline Says: Kill all things!!!! 
  • I Said: I feel foggy, hangoverish and I want to kill all things, and sleep. The food isn’t bad because I made it in advance, but I am a cranky girl.

Day 6-7:

  • Whole9 Timeline Says: I just want a nap. 
  • I said: Yes I still want a nap… but I can do this and I look forward to my veggie filled meals!

Some of the things I ate! (not everything I ate)

week1whole30

Which brings us to day 8. Today! I feel awesome and awake and sooo happy because I made homemade almond milk to put in my coffee this morning! Genius! Whole30 says not to drink store bought almond milk because they are actually filled with lots of extra ingredients and preservatives. I had no idea! They did say in a forum you can make your own though!

Screen Shot 2013-03-08 at 8.22.21 AM

Score! I have never made it before, but have seen it on many other blogs and all have seemed to have pretty positive experiences. That was all I needed to convince me, so I gave it a go.

What you need: 

  • 1 cup almonds (soaked over night) 
  • 3 cups water
  • optional: dates, vanilla, cinnamon or whatever you want to flavor it with.
  • Nut Milk Bag****

Here is the thing… I don’t have a nut milk bag (yes it is a funny name), they are highly, highly   recommended though. I used this thing in it’s place..

(Not Recommended)

(Not Recommended)

It was slow, messy, and not as efficient as the bag probably is, just a warning!

Homemade Almond Milk

Method:

  1. Soak 1 cup almonds over night! Must! Must! Must! Or soak at least an hour before hand. This lets the almonds soak up water and get soft and plump for easy blending. 
  2. Put 3 cups of water, and soaked almonds in the blender. I added 3 dates to this also, but you can add whatever other flavoring you want!
  3. Blend on scary HIGH for 1 minute. Blended Almond Milk
  4. This is when you take your nut milk bag (or make due strainer) and run the milk through it, to separate it from the almond meal.

    I wish I had a nut milk bag....

    I wish I had a nut milk bag….

  5. Once separated you can keep the milk in the fridge.

**save your almond meal and use it in place of flour, in oatmeal or whatever else you can think of (nothing wasted)!

Milk on the left (in the yogurt thing). Almond meal on the right.

Milk on the left (in the yogurt thing). Almond meal on the right.

…and then I enjoyed some in my coffee. Success!

Almond milk Coffee

Now for the moment you have all been waiting for…

Scentsy Giveaway Time!

This giveaway is in honor of a fundraiser started by my sweet friend, Miranda, to support our friends Alyssa and Matthew Erwin. “Scents” for baby Erwin. <— (yesterdays post). Their baby boy will be born with Spina Bifida, so we wanted to do something to give them our love and support and allow others to reach out to them as well!

The fundraiser Miranda set up is a Scentsy party fundraiser, so any Scentsy products you purchase from this party, donates a portion of the proceeds to Alyssa and Matthew. The link to the party is: Scents for baby Erwin.

The giveaway: A Baby Buddy + Scent Pak 

Screen Shot 2013-03-08 at 9.23.26 AM

BabyBuddy Giveaway

In order to enter the giveaway, I am asking that you:

  1. visit this link: Scents for baby Erwin, and Pick out your baby buddy and scent pak! Leave a comment with which one you would like!
  2. Share the party link —-> Scents for baby Erwin <—- on Facebook or Twitter for an extra entry (be sure to comment and let me know you did this!)

The giveaway will be open until next Friday (3/15) at noon (One week).

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “7 Days of Whole30 + Scentsy Giveaway!

  1. Kerri Eichorn

    I think Baby Ollie the Elephant is super cute;) Shared on Twitter!

  2. Michelle

    I’d choose Baby Lenny and any of the scent paks (maybe the Camu Camu?)

  3. Michelle

    I tweeted about the giveaway:

  4. Laura Bradley

    I tweeted the giveaway/party page!!

  5. Laura Bradley

    If I won, I would love to have the Scratch the Cat baby buddy and the Camu Camu scent pak!

  6. I Tweeted! 🙂

  7. Sam Buck

    I’d love Baby Ribbert the Frog, and the scent pak in Lemons and Berries!

  8. Pingback: New Shoes: Look at the difference | Balancing on Honey

  9. Maureen

    I love Baby Penny the Pig and the Sunkissed Citrus Scent Pack!

    Maureen
    maureen.tenney@gmail.com

  10. Maureen

    Here is my tweet:

    Maureen
    maureen.tenney@gmail.com

  11. I’d choose baby penny! and thank you for sharing your easy recipe for almond milk! I forgot to separate the almond meal – and I had some really chunky smoothies. Oh well! Getting a nut bag for sure!

  12. Pingback: Ultimate Burpee Pyramid | Balancing on Honey

  13. throuthehaze

    Baby Lenny the Lamb and Happy Birthday Scent Pak

  14. Jenny

    Baby Patch the Dog and Black Raspberry Vanilla Scent

  15. Becky

    Baby Patch the Dog and Camu Camu Scent Pak

  16. I think Lenny the Lamb is adorable! Paired with a newborn nursery scent pack. I’d give this to my pregnant sister 🙂 She’s due in august!

  17. Jenny

    Baby Patch the Dog and lemons and berries sent pak

  18. Tracie Trump

    Love Baby Scratch with luna scent pak, my email is tracietrump@yahoo.com

  19. Tracie Trump

    Tweeted gw as @tmtsweeps, my email is tracietrump@yahoo.com

  20. Mary P.

    I like Penny the pig and Camu-Camu scent Pak……yeah I did it!

  21. Patty V

    If I win, I like Penny the pig and Beach scent pack.

  22. Clair

    Baby Ollie the elephant! and annnnnnnnnny scent pak 🙂 I shared on FB! Prayers to the Erwin fam!

  23. Ashley L

    The pig any scent

  24. Pingback: Almond Milk with a Nut Milk Bag | Balancing on Honey

Leave a Reply

